My First Day!!!

Okay, so I FINALLY started working at the kennels today, and it was AWESOME!!!! I met the boss and two other girls who work there. They were both lovely, totally down to earth and so helpful. First, they explained how to clean out the kennels. And to be honest, it’s not as hard as one would think. I personally thought it would be much… worse… than it is. Then one of the girls and I walked some dogs :D. Together we walked ten dogs and I got to meet each one! First we walked a labradoodle and a boxer. They were both lovely, and full of energy. The labradoodle likes to dictate where to walk. Then we walked four little dogs. Bcause Penny (my dog) is such a big dog (a golden retriever), I am used to just clipping on the lead and, hey presto, being ready to go for a walk. t was particularly difficult to strap each dog into it’s harness, but we eventually managed. I walked a Jack Russell and a Bichon Frise. While the other girl walked a Chihuahua who was absolutely gorgeous, and another Bichon Frise. I found, funnily enough that dogs that are hyped up inside are really calm outside on walks. I can relate this to Penny and the Jack Russell. After these four, we walked a pretty white husky. And a small black collie. Well! She was ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!!!! I honestly fell in love with her when I saw her. Her eyes were literally beautiful. (May seem a bit weird that I fell in love with this dogs appearance, but she was soooooooo pretty!!) Then lastly we walked a mongrel and a collie. They were lovely. Before I could go and play with the day-care dogs (which I couldn’t wait to do), I had to walk the Golden Retriever by myself. She is a very regal looking version of Penny (Golden Retriever). She sits still and her long hair makes her look royal.

Finally, I could go into the day-care! There were a lot of dogs, and I didn’t get all of their names. My favourite (which I shouldn’t have, but I can’t help myself) was a little Labrador puppy. He nibbled my fingers and later had to go for a nap because he was so young! i was honestly so tempted to bring him home, I had to resist the urge to just steal him! Later, I got to sit myself with an utterly lovely staffie. He whines and talks to you and he hates to be left alone. He sounds like a dolphin cross bred with a sheep mixed with a monster. No joke. The sound comes from his stomach . Then, in order to get close to you, he sits right on your lap. It’s honesty heart warming. There was also a ‘whippet’ but she looks like a whippet and a staffie cross bred to have her. She is very demanding, and barks when you leave the room. Her and the staffie are also escape artists, if you open the gate to get to the door a fraction, they will be able to get through and look at you like: ”Where to now?” Then a ridgeback something. She is a young dog. When her owner left, she ran around the room, jumped on the barriers, barked and whined. It was so sad to watch because I couldn’t distract her. (Except for a few seconds when I gave her treats).

This has really inspired me, and made me realise that the old saying is true:

”If at first you don’t succeed. Try and Try again.”

I phoned this kennel so much over 8 months, and emailed quite a lot, that way, I made them realise that I am deadly serious, and I am not messing around. I want to work with animals, I always have, and if it takes a bit of effort, I’m willing to put it in if it will hep me to go where I want to in life.

I HONESTLY CANNOT WAIT UNTIL NEXT SATURDAY!!!!!

 

Published by

caitlinkeekee

I love animals, and I have wanted to be vet forever. I also play the saxophone and I fence.

One thought on “My First Day!!!”

Leave a Reply

